What is THAT?

Don’t underestimate the power of laughter, especially in your advertisements.  A funny ad will keep a potential customer’s attention; they will sit through an entire ad, maybe even turn it up so their friends can hear it.  Look for what makes people laugh, what are some universally funny situations?  The following story may just be one of these.

Over the weekend my husband and I took the kids to the Minnesota Zoo and it was great!  So we’re making our way through the exhibits, having a great time, and I’m realizing that I don’t know some of the animals as well as I thought.  I started looking at the signs before the animals so that I would stop telling the kids, “Look it’s a beaver!”  And it was a river otter.  “Look, it’s a buffalo!”  No, a bison.  “Look, it’s an ostrich!”  Nope, an emu.  Ok, fine, forget it.  You win biologists.  I’ll read your stinking signs. 

We make our way to an exhibit with a series of Minnesota animals, you know wolves, racoons, lynx, and we finally come around to the wolverine window and I first look at the sign to make sure I know what I’m talking about.  Then I glance down to find the animal and low and behold, the wolverines are getting busy.  I mean, there is NO mistaking what’s going on.  These two are enjoying an afternoon delight.  And there we are; me, my husband, and kids watching with a bit of curiosity and confusion.  The kids are asking, “Mommy, what are they doing?”  Of course, they’re wrestling sweetie.  They’re wrestling.  But then we decided to make it the first of “the talks” and proceeded to explain that when a mommy wolverine and a daddy wolverine love each other very much…  No, that’s not true. 

What actually happened was my husband and I giggling like a couple of teenagers and my kids watching the poor female wolverine looking very uncomfortable.  Actually, we all were.  We decided to hit the gift shop and head home.

All in all, it was a fun day at the zoo.  We are looking forward to visiting again next summer.  Just in time for the new baby wolverines exhibit.

One comment

Leave a Reply

